Tagged: Presidential Medal of Freedom

The Presidential Medal of Freedom is the United States’ highest civilian award, bestowed upon individuals who have made significant contributions to the security or national interests of America, world peace, cultural endeavors, or other public or private initiatives.

Instituted in 1963 by President John F. Kennedy, the award represents a continuation and expansion of the earlier Medal of Freedom established by President Harry S. Truman in 1945.

Over the years, this medal has been awarded to a diverse group of individuals, both American and international, from various professions and walks of life.


The Presidential Medal of Freedom finds its roots in the Medal of Freedom, introduced by President Harry Truman during World War II. Truman’s intent was to honor notable service by civilians during the war. It wasn’t until 1963 that President John F. Kennedy revamped and elevated the Medal of Freedom to its current status, renaming it the “Presidential Medal of Freedom.” The move was in line with Kennedy’s effort to underscore the values and principles of the U.S. during the Cold War.

Design and Presentation The medal displays a golden star with white enamel, upon which is centered a blue roundel with 13 gold stars arranged in the form of a three-bar chevron, consisting of two chevrons of five stars and one of three, surrounded by golden eagles. A red-white-and-blue ribbon holds the medal, making it wearable.

Presidents have typically presented the Presidential Medal of Freedom during formal ceremonies at the White House. The event is marked by speeches detailing the recipient’s achievements and their significance.

Criteria for Selection

Recipients of the Presidential Medal of Freedom are chosen for their exemplary contributions to a broad spectrum of fields, including national security, peace efforts, public service, journalism, entertainment, sports, business, and more. The medal can also be awarded posthumously.

Notable Recipients

The list of those who’ve been honored with the Presidential Medal of Freedom reads like a who’s who of pivotal figures from the 20th and 21st centuries. Some renowned names include:

  • Martin Luther King Jr.: Awarded posthumously in 1977, King’s non-violent struggle against racial segregation and his dream of equality earned him this prestigious honor.
  • Mother Teresa: In 1985, the Catholic nun, known for her charitable work in India, was recognized for her selfless service to the needy.
  • Nelson Mandela: The anti-apartheid revolutionary and former president of South Africa received the award in 2002.
  • Stephen Hawking: In 2009, the renowned theoretical physicist was honored for his contributions to science.
  • Meryl Streep: The iconic actress received the award in 2014 for her vast contributions to the arts.
  • Bill Gates and Melinda Gates: Recognized in 2016 for their philanthropic efforts worldwide, particularly in health and education.

The list extends far beyond these notable figures, touching almost every aspect of public life and endeavor.

Controversies and Criticisms

Like any high-profile honor, the Presidential Medal of Freedom has not been devoid of controversy. The selection process, primarily at the president’s discretion, sometimes becomes a point of contention. Critics occasionally argue that some recipients are chosen more for their close relationship with the sitting president or for political reasons rather than the merit of their contributions.

Posthumous Awards

The medal can be awarded posthumously, allowing the nation to recognize significant figures who may not have received their due recognition during their lifetimes. Such awards serve as a reminder of the long-standing impacts of these individuals on American life and culture.

Comparison with Other Awards

Often compared with the Congressional Gold Medal, the Presidential Medal of Freedom is distinct in its awarding criteria and process. While the former requires an act of Congress and often acknowledges achievements over a lifetime or significant impacts, the latter is awarded at the discretion of the president.