Tagged: House of Windsor

The House of Windsor is the reigning royal house of the United Kingdom and the other Commonwealth realms. Its history is both fascinating and central to the modern identity of the British monarchy.


The house was founded in 1917 when King George V, responding to anti-German sentiment during World War I, decided to replace the historic name of the Royal House from the House of Saxe-Coburg and Gotha.

The new name was derived from Windsor Castle, an ancient royal residence. George V declared, “All descendants in the male line of Queen Victoria, who are subjects of these realms, other than female descendants who marry or who have married, shall bear the name of Windsor.”


  1. George V (1910-1936): Oversaw the transition to the House of Windsor and navigated the monarchy through the challenges of World War I.
  2. Edward VIII (1936): His reign was short-lived due to his abdication to marry Wallis Simpson, an American divorcée. He was succeeded by his brother.
  3. George VI (1936-1952): Led Britain through World War II and was the father of Queen Elizabeth II.
  4. Elizabeth II (1952-2022): The longest-reigning current monarch and the longest-serving current queen regnant in world history. Her reign saw significant changes in British society and the monarchy.
  5. Charles III (2022 – ): Before ascending to the throne, Charles was the longest serving Prince of Wales.

Key Facts

  • Dynastic Changes: In 1960, a decree allowed descendants of the queen and Prince Philip to be distinguished from the rest of the Royal Family, bearing the surname Mountbatten-Windsor.
  • Modernization: Under Queen Elizabeth II, the monarchy was modernized in many ways, including the alteration of succession laws to be non-discriminatory based on gender.

The House of Windsor symbolizes continuity, adapting over time while preserving traditions central to British identity.